Program Information

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and provides housing assistance on behalf of families or individuals.  The program assists low-income families to rent decent, affordable housing in the community of their choice.  Participants are free to choose any housing units in the private market that meet program requirements.  HUD provides the income guidelines and fair market rents based on family size and market rents for the area where a family resides.  Participants are required to pay approximately 30% of their income toward the requested rent.  For more detailed information about the HCV program, click here.

The West Hartford Housing Authority administers the Section 8 Tenant-Based Housing Choice Voucher program for families residing in the West Hartford community and is also a subcontractor for the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program  and CT Rental Assistance Program for the CT Department of Housing.

Types of Section 8 Assistance

Project Based Vouchers

Use is restricted to specifically designated apartment complexes.  There could be a number of apartment complexes in an area designated solely for public housing use.  Public Housing Authorities are only allowed to reserve up to 20% of their vouchers as project-based.

Tenant-Based Vouchers

Allow program participants to choose a privately owned apartment.  Tenant-based vouchers may be used anywhere in the United States or Puerto Rico with a public housing authority operating a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program.

DOH Programs

Nine public housing authorities, including West Hartford Housing Authority, have a contractual relationship with John D’Amelia & Associates to administer approximately 8,000 Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers and CT Rental Assistance Program (RAP) vouchers allocated to the CT Department of Housing.  This includes participants in the Family Unification, Mainstream and Family Self-Sufficiency (FSS) programs.  As one of the sub-contractors, the West Hartford Housing Authority now administers over 1,200 vouchers in seventeen communities.

Housing Quality Standards

Housing Quality Standards (HQS) ensure that your home is safe, healthy and comfortable.  There are two kinds of standards: qualities that the home or apartment must have in order to become approved by the WHHA and qualities the special needs of your family will determine.

Every apartment must pass an initial and annual HQS inspection. The booklet  “A Good Place to Live!” can help you to understand how the inspection process works.  It goes into more detail about the basic requirements of the house or apartment.


VAWA Notice To Families (102.3 KiB)

VAWA Notice To LL (2) (101.3 KiB)

VAWA Certification
VAWA Certification
VAWA Certification.pdf
227.0 KiB
VAWA Notice To Families
VAWA Notice To Families
VAWA notice to families.pdf
102.3 KiB
VAWA Notice To LL (2)
VAWA Notice To LL (2)
VAWA notice to LL (2).pdf
101.3 KiB